Skip to main content

Clifford Beers Society

"I must fight in the open."


Clifford Beers used those words to respond to critics who suggested he start his mental health movement anonymously. Over 100 years later, his legacy still guides the way as Mental Health America advances prevention for all; early identification and intervention for those at risk; integrated care, services, and supports for those who need them; with recovery as the goal.

Mental Health America created the Clifford Beers Society to honor the generous giving of our most ardent and committed supporters, both individuals and organizations. We invite you to "fight in the open" and become a member of the Clifford Beers Society.

For more information, please contact Victoria Renard, Vice President of Development, at (703) 838-7549 or,

Join the Clifford Beers Society by making your contribution here

Current Clifford Beers Society Members


Doug & Margaret Colbeth

Edward & Mary Schreck (Platinum Founding Member)

The Faas Foundation



Janssen Pharmaceutical Companies of Johnson & Johnson (Gold Founding Member)

Neurocrine Biosciences

Pfizer, Inc. (Bronze Founding Member)

Muhammad Alam

Susan Kesey

Otsuka America Pharmaceutical, Inc. (Gold Founding Member)


Bristol Myers Squibb




Lundbeck (Silver Founding Member)

Takeda Pharmaceuticals U.S.A. Inc. (Silver Founding Member)

Pam Hickey

Belinda Lang

Andrew Rubin (Platinum Founding Member)

Molly Van Ort (Gold Founding Member)

Reginald Williams, II (Gold Founding Member)

Richard Van Horn (Platinum Founding Member)

Russ Petrella




Intra-Cellular Therapies

Evelyn Anastasiou

Peter Carson

Allan Engelmeyer

Paul & Pam Gionfriddo

Derek Hess

Laura Kennedy

Patrick & Amy Kennedy

Gertrude Niehans (Bronze Founding Member)

Luis and Janie Perez

Courtney Price

Dr. Sara Saz

Anne Swan

Michelle Webster

Boehringer Ingelheim

CA Ventures


Intra-Cellular Therapies, Inc





Jack Akester (Platinum Founding Member)

Laura Bay

William Beardslee (Bronze Founding Member)

Barry Beck

Ann Boughtin (Bronze Founding Member)

Jennifer Bright

Dominic Butera

William & Susan Carter

Bonnie Cook

Lacy Dicharry

Lori Duda

Joseph de Raismes (Gold Founding Member)

Daniel Eisenstein

Amanda Elde

J. Richard Elpers (Silver Founding Member)

Dr. Shamiram Feinglass

Richard Fortner

Clyde Goldback

Glenn Grindlinger

Mark Heyrman (Bronze Founding Member)

Martin Howley

Steve Kahn

Jessica Kennedy

Adel B. Korkor MD Foundation

Gretchen Kroll

John Leckie

Aaron Marcu

Ann Mattingly

Mark Mehta

Jennifer Mercado

Christopher Molaroi

Marie Morilus Black

Mario & Dana Morino

Brian Mower

Mary Obasi

Linda Olson Nemia

Gokul Patel

Debbie & Michael Plotnick (Bronze Founding Member)

Jonathan Sanon

Seidman Family Foundation

Pete Shalek

Rusty Selix (Bronze Founding Member)

David Shern (Platinum Founding Member)

Vickie Riccardo & Donald Spencer

Tom Starling

Gary Tauscher

David Theobald (Platinum Founding Member)

Angie Webb

Craig Wilson

Robert Witt

MHA of Palm Beach County

MHA of Indiana (Bronze Founding Member)

Mental Health Connecticut

MHA in New Jersey (Bronze Founding Member)

MHA of Essex and Morris

MHA in New York State

MHA Oklahoma

Mental Health Partnerships

MHA of East Tennessee (Bronze Founding Member)

MHA of the MidSouth (Bronze Founding Member)

MHA of Los Angeles (Platinum Founding Member)

MHA of Monmouth County